Virtual Remote Networks | Help Desk: (917) 293 2669
How To Clear/Wipe NetScaler VPX Configuration

Your Technology Partner

How To Clear/Wipe NetScaler VPX Configuration

How To Clear/Wipe NetScaler VPX Configuration 

The clear ns config command is a command to clear the NetScaler configuration and reset it to factory defaults:
clear ns config [-force] <level>

When the force argument is used configurations will be cleared without prompting for confirmation.

After clearing the configuration you must save the configuration and reboot for the change to persist.

From the CLI after you have run the clear command you will see ‘Done’. At this point issue, the save config command and reboot.

From the GUI after you have run the clear command, click the diskette icon to save the configuration and reboot.

The following three levels are used to clear the configuration:

Level 1 – Basic

When you run the clear ns config basic command, all configurations except the following are cleared:

  • NetScaler IP, Mapped IP(s), and Subnet IP(s)
  • Network settings (Default Gateway, VLAN, Route Health Injection, NTP, and DNS settings)
  • High availability (HA) node definitions
  • Feature and mode settings
  • nsroot password

Level 2 – Extended

When you run the clear ns config extended command, all configurations except the following are cleared:

  • NetScaler IP, Mapped IP(s), and Subnet IP(s)
  • Network settings (Default Gateway, VLAN, Route Health Injection, NTP, and DNS settings)
  • HA node definitions
  • Feature and mode settings are reverted to their default values

Level 3 – Full

When you run the clear ns config full command, all settings are reset to their factory default values except the following information. This is done to ensure that the system does not lose network connectivity.

  • NetScaler IP
  • Default Gateway

Note: When you clear the configurations through the cluster IP address, by specifying the level as ‘full’, the cluster is deleted and all cluster nodes become standalone appliances. The ‘basic’ and ‘extended’ levels are propagated to the cluster nodes.

You can also clear the configuration through NetScaler GUI by navigating to System > Diagnostics > Maintenance > Clear Configuration. Use the drop-down box to select basic, extended, or full then click the Clear button.

User-added image
User-added image

Share This:

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Signup

Virtual Remote provides cross-platform Mobil Apps,Virtual Servers/Applications,Data Center and Coding solutions. Setting higher standards for VOIP , Cloud technology & Virtual Servers and investing in to highly skilled team for the implementation of customized solutions for our clients.

3 S Hope Street,Los Angeles, CA

Phone : 917 293 2669

info@virtualremote.net